top of page

Day Trip to Montserrat and Sitges

Today we went to two of the most beautiful places I have seen yet in Spain! We took a tour bus up to Montserrat a breathtaking mountainous peak right outside the city of Barcelona. Montserrat holds a monastery which many Catalan catholics travel to everyday. This monastery is also famous for holding the black Madonna, often called La Moreneta, or the dark one. Being atop of the Montserrat mountain ranges was an experience I won't soon forget. Although I'm not catholic, there is a feeling of serenity and holiness while standing in the monastery, that really makes you feel at peace. I will definitely be returning soon to explore more of Montserrat!

Next we went to Sitges, a small beach town a little outside of Barcelona. The town is full of cute shops and restaurants which leads you right to Mediterranean sea beaches. We first sat down to enjoy some tapas and then went to explore the beautiful beach! My jaw dropped as I saw just how blue the water was and just how warm it felt! It was pretty surprising to learn that there's an abundance of jelly fish, as quite of few of my classmates were stung. Other than that, it felt like I was in a dream. Each day since I think about how truly lucky I am to have been to such amazing places in just one day!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page