top of page

¡Hola Barcelona!

After a day of travel I've arrived in Barcelona, Spain and I could not be more excited for this adventure to begin! This experience has already been a whirlwind of emotions, and I'm confident this will change my life for the better. Our first two nights we stayed in the Expo Hotel, where we met our AIFS program leaders and our fellow classmates. The nerves and jitters I had been experiencing before leaving began to slip away as I saw what a beautiful city I had just moved to and the beautiful people I would soon meet.

On the first day we took a bus tour around downtown Barcelona and had our first glimpse at the stunning architecture that Barcelona encompasses. We visited two of the most monumental sites in all of Spain, the Sagrada Familia and the Park Güell, both created by the architect Antoni Gaudí. As we stepped off the bus and began to explore these iconic architectural locations, I couldn't believe the awe and amazement I felt, that I believe won't ever lessen.

The Park Güell was created and finished by Gaudí, a Catalan architect who is famously known as the first of the Spanish Modernist movement. Many did not understand or appreciate Gaudí's work until he had passed away, just as many innovative artists before him. However, now, Gaudí's work remains fundamental to Barcelona and represents their unique Catalan culture to this day.

Park Güell

The Temple of the Sagrada Familia was also designed by Gaudí, however he passed away in 1926 before he could finish it. This is why it is often called the unfinished church of the Holy Family. Gaudí spent over 40 years designing this breathtaking building, and this is what ultimately made him a universal architectural icon for the modernist movement. Gaudí's contribution to Barcelona culture will never be forgotten. Although the cathedral was left unfinished, Barcelona has been working for over 133 years with plans to finish the landmark by 2026. I will be returning to both of these Barcelona landmarks and will discuss them in more detail at that time.

Sagrada Familia

I am blessed to be surrounded by such detail, beauty and uniqueness, which will leave me wide-eyed for these next three months in Barcelona. As each day passes, and I continue to explore Barcelona, it only becomes clearer to me that this is the most beautiful city I have ever been to, and that I am unbelievably lucky to get to call Barcelona my home. More to come!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page